INTEGRITY

Call me “Old-School”, but I believe there are some things that never go out of style. And one of those things is INTEGRITY. I only have one definition for integrity: DO WHAT YOU SAID YOU WERE GOING TO DO.

The Bible says this about INTEGRITY, “He who walks in integrity walks securely,/But he who perverts his ways will be found out” (Proverbs 10:9 NASB).

INTEGRITY is not talked about anymore: it is not taught in the schools; it is not preached in the churches. But it is a topic that deserves a grand re-opening.

Only a few people are walking in INTEGRITY these days; others just go about lying, and breaking promises without a qualm.

But it mustn’t be so. One cannot afford to live without INTEGRITY. Your word is your contract and you must abide by it. Be true to yourself, and be honest with your fellowmen.

I do my very best every day to be a person of integrity. I have not always been this way, but God worked on me and continues to do so; I did my part and continue to do so. You can too. You can be a person who walks in  INTEGRITY, a person who keeps an oath even when it hurts. After all, nothing that’s good ever comes easy, and anything that comes easy is rarely good.

My mother defines INTEGRITY in this manner: “Integrity is a moral value that can be learned; but lack of respect is deliberate.”

Without INTEGRITY you have no respect; no respect for yourself and none for others. First you must cultivate INTEGRITY, then your respect will be earned and given. INTEGRITY is a virtue that I prize highly. I talk about it with my friends all of the time.

INTEGRITY is as simple as calling a friend back just like you said you would; it can be as complex as keeping your marriage vows (just like you said you would). When you leave here, the one thing that you must make certain to take with you is your  INTEGRITY. And the legacy that you will leave behind must be one of total  INTEGRITY.

3 Comments

  1. This blog is like music to my ears. Integrity guides us in the path of righteousness, and helps us to share with the world our true inner self. We can fake our emotions and our feelings but, we certainly cannot fake our goodness. A good tree will produce good fruits! A bad tree will produce sour grapes. Thanks for sharing Poet1999! Keep your uprightness and NEVER trade it for anything in this world! I am curious to see how many readers will give this blog a thumbs up or a positive review! I certainly think it deserves a high mark!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

