Saying Goodbye

No matter how many times we say goodbye, we seem to always bypass the ‘good’ thereof. We just can’t get used to it, can we? Each time it happens, it’s like a new phenomenon. Yet, saying goodbye is nothing new. It has been said so many times, by so many people, in so many different ways. And yet, we still find it shocking, distasteful even, to say goodbye.

The good old Internet tells us that goodbye is actually a “late 16th century contraction of ‘God be with you!’” (Google.com). So, I guess it’s not a bad thing after all.

Not all goodbyes are equal: some are pretty fitting for the time being, others just can’t quite mold into the situation. Whether we are saying goodbye temporarily or permanently, there is always this discomfort that sometimes you can’t even understand. But why do we find it so heavy on our conscience to say goodbye? Could it be because we are social creatures and we like to be near each other most of the times? Or is it this subconscious belief that the goodbye might be permanent, never to see that person again for the rest of our lives? Whatever the reason may be, saying goodbye will undoubtedly remain unsettling.

I have had my shares of goodbyes in my 23 years on this Earth. Some were painful, others joyful, and still there are those that remain untitled. I’m not done with saying goodbye, I have a couple more to go. Today I am saying goodbye temporarily, I hope. I am not saying goodbye to my blog which is my life in essence. I am saying goodbye to this particular chapter of life. It’s time to start a new one, to embark on a new journey halfway across the world. There are a lot of blank pages in my book that demand to be engaged to ink.

What can we say? Saying goodbye is a part of life. It is to be expected, never to be feared. And it’s true, we will never become good at it; there is no one out there who is an expert in saying goodbye. We are all amateurs, doing the absolute best that we can. So, don’t fear goodbye, embrace it rather because without it there exists no new beginnings. And remember it is ‘God be with you’, not goodbye. He is that ONE Person that will NEVER say goodbye to you. Embrace Him, and He will make all your byes good.

1 Comment

  1. Very true….. Saying goodbye is definitely not one of my expertise. I can easily say *see you later* but rarely say *goodbye*. I understand that life’s circumstances force us at time to part ways, but the melancholy of the moment is always troublesome. Since goodbye seems to be inevitable, and somewhat a part of life, I will try to use *see you later* most of the times to help ease up my feeling a little. Thanks for sharing Poet1999… To you, I will never say goodbye… You are in my *see you later, alligator* category… I love reading your poem. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

